Of the seven bridges that existed in the Guba region between the 17th and 19th centuries, this is the only one that still remains. This longest bridge was built in 1894 by Alexander III to strengthen Russia’s military presence in the Caucasus, replacing a wooden bridge built over the Gudialchay river in 1851. Originally, a 19-span bridge was planned. However, due to landslides during construction, lower numbers were chosen.
The bridge has 14 spans, a
total length of 275 meters, and an 8-meter width. Because of its multi-span
design, the bridge can withstand powerful massive flooding and mudflows that
raise the river’s water level. This is Azerbaijan’s only bridge of this type
from the nineteenth century. The bridge is now only used by pedestrians and
offers a spectacular view of Red Village. It provides easy access to Red
Village from Nizami Park, the city’s oldest park. The bridge has been
designated as an architectural landmark by the state.
Many young Mountain Jews have
relocated to cities to further their education and learn trades. The burnt
bricks used to build the old bridge saw many changes in Red Village, from the
heyday of religious life in the early twentieth century, when the village had
13 synagogues, to the arrival of Soviet power and subsequent religious
repression, to soldiers being escorted to the front in World War II, many of
whom never returned. It has come to represent the settlement and the close ties
between two cultures: the Muslims of Guba and the Jews of Red Village.