Gerard Dou Synagogue


Towards the end of the 19th century, many Jews qutted the run-down Jewish quarter in the old inner city and moved into the new working-class neighborhood of The Pipe (De Pijp). In 1892 a synagogue was built there, at 238 Gerard Doustraat, sponsored by the society Teshungat Israel (Help of Israel). This became a learning center where workers and intellectuals would meet for study. The synagogue hardly stood out from the residential buildings on the street, allowing services to continue until 1943, despite German occupation. The synagogue was the official residence of Chief Rabbi Justus Tal until his death in 1954. The building was completely renovated and refurbished in the 1990s and the synagogue offers space for 250 men and 70 women.