Lengyel Palace

trip advisors rating
Attractions
SITE OVERVIEW
Widowed Mrs. Lőrinc Lengyel furniture trader’s house was known to had been built, according to family lore, by the famous Vienna-based company Fellner and Helmer. Constructions started in 1893 and the new building was already standing in the following year.
GENERAL
Widowed Mrs. Lőrinc Lengyel furniture trader’s house was known to had been built, according to family lore, by the famous Vienna-based company Fellner and Helmer. Constructions started in 1893 and the new building was already standing in the following year. Lörinc Lengyel’s sons established their furniture storage space on the ground floor, along Kelemen Street. Mór Schillinger’ downstairs glass and porcelain shop faced the Klauzál Square, furthermore, the Pollák brothers’ gold and silverware store and János Braun’s optician and music store operated in the building. Moreover, a number of spacious apartments occupied the first and second floors. Although the ornate roof structure of the palace was removed, most of its stone ornaments remain reflecting the original beauty of the building. Since 1985, the famous confectionery of Szeged, the Kiss Virág Confectionery has been operating in the building. The Lengyel family had a two-storey building constructed in 1904 on the other end of their property facing Kölcsey Street. The house was designed by architect Béla Ligeti, resembling the Lengyel palace. The Lengyel brothers turned the two-storey building into a hotel, locally known as Royal Hotel, in 1911.
@endphp