The Ungár-Mayer Palace was built between 1910 and 1911 according to the plans of Ede Magyar, the outstanding architect of Hungarian Art Nouveau style. The two wealthy contractors were Benő Ungár and Áron Mayer; Móricz Pick and László Tóbiás’ company carried out the construction works. Various forms of ornaments, such as spirals, waves, chessboard patterns, garlands and other geometric shapes decorate the building. The corner tower is the most accent piece of the building decorated by the architect’s favourite dancing figures.
The three-storey palace counted as a world-sensation for several reasons: reinforced concrete was first used in Szeged, separate elevators were installed for the tenants and to carry goods; a disposal chute, reception area and a phone centre served the comforts of its tenants. The eighteen luxurious apartments had ceramic tiles in the kitchen and in the bathrooms. Utility rooms occupied the fourth floor, while the top floor was used for dusting rugs. Six stores and the famous Corso Café operated in the downstairs area; the local gentry much favoured the latter one for its Parisian atmosphere. The famous Hungarian poet Attila József frequently visited it during his college years. The café remained popular until WWI when it was turned into a restaurant, then, Ferenc Horváth opened his Dreher Beer Hall in its place from 1926. Finally, the large, spacious area was divided into small shops.